InterFaith Dialogue

I feel this is why many of us seem to connect to our Religion…

I’m honestly not sure about what my religion has meant to me at this moment, as I am currently going through a phase of change in my life. Religion at times has been a form some, to understand or explain the unexplainable happening around them. It has been an anchor that prevents people from drifting away from their morals and values. In a sense it can be religion that makes us human.

I was brought up under a strong Catholic background. From strong influences of my father being one of the more active persons in church thought my childhood, right through my education in one of Sri Lanka’s leading Catholic schools. From altar boy, to choir boy to celebrating masses in the Vatican and audiences with the pope – I’ve gone from pilgrimages and prayer meetings to reciting the rosary at home. But my life has hasn’t only just been about prayers and visits to the church. I like to think that I’ve been blessed with a strong curiosity to question many of the things in life and society.

I’ve been lucky to have come across people from different parts of the world many of which are from the South Asian region, where People with different casts, ages, cultures, beliefs and ways of thinking exist. My interests in the political science have brought me new perspectives on social behavior. Most interesting of which is ‘Liberal thinking’. I feel that this worldview founded on ideas of liberty and equality has seemed so promising to many of our youth today (be it in different variations of the idea).

I’ve often heard people say that “when I have a child, I’m gonna let him or her choose his/her religion, his beliefs and what he wants to be”. As noble and brave as it sounds, I’ve felt that such a thought, would seem silly. You can never live a life void of any influences. The people who live around you – their beliefs, their likes, their cultures, and their biasness will eventually rub off on you at some given point.

One thing I do believe in, however, is that we all yearn to do be good. What is ‘good’ on the other hand is again subjective. We all simply don’t have the time or the will power to really put into thought, on what really is ‘right or wrong’ or ‘good or bad’, which is why many of us turn to religion for salvation or for answers. Religion gives us the answers and the reasons. These answers have gone through decades of refinement. I feel that this is why the prominent religions have a strong core or a base. Religion provides us with purpose and reason.

I’ve also heard of those who advocate the core philosophies of most religions to being equal or of living in harmony. To me such views and beliefs have stem from ‘Omnism’, Religious pluralism and my favorite, Universalism. I personally feel that such views on religion are views that simply sound ‘nice’ rather than be reflection of the reality. The fact that some religions are Sectarian proves to be a point to consider.

As for Catholicism, I feel that there is still much that I should know about my own religion in order for me to have a clear understanding on it for me make a proper statement about it. And I feel it is the same for many of us who have our own views on our religion. If we really think about it, we are all prone to change. Of all things, the way we think changes the most. Whilst our religions tends to be less prone to sudden changes as we are.

open house int
The author wishes to remain anonymous. He is a 22 year old Sri Lankan, and a born Roman Catholic. He is a Sinhalese, who also believes that he is part of the Human race.

Leave a comment