InterFaith Dialogue

I found Hope through Islam…

I would like to start off with what Islam is NOT to me. Islam is not terrorism and bloodshed like some of the world sees. It is not a teaching that promotes rape, oppression, extremism or killing of innocent human beings, but, to me, it is the best way of life!

As I type this, my eyes are filled with tears. I am blessed to be a Muslim and to have discovered the beauty of Islam, Alhamdulillah (all praise is to Allah). Everybody has a turning point in their life where one has to struggle to be stronger and I, had such a turning point too…

I remember, about two and a half years ago, sitting on the prayer mat, in my dark room; while everyone else at home were asleep, my eyes were exhausted with pouring tears. As my muscles tightened, the only word I remember uttering was, “Allah….” Those were the darkest days I’ve ever faced. I had no hope other than crying out to my Rabb (Lord) and having faith that no matter how lost and hopeless it all seemed, there would be something great in store for me…

It is strange how much the love of my Maker, filled my heart with peace. I started to realize that no matter who hurt me, there was something and someone I could always rely on; Islam, which gave me hope, and Allah, Who never abandoned me. It is when I was tested that I felt drawn towards Allah, and through this, I believe, I discovered my strengths which I once thought were my weaknesses.

Islam is not just about fasting a month and praying five times a day; it is a connection with Allah that is to be nourished every day. If I were to describe it in a different way, I would say, just as how water fulfills thirst, Islam is like a daily energy giver fulfilling all what I need! It teaches me to worship Allah in every aspect, and this gives me hope that I can fulfill the purpose Allah has created me for. I learnt to expect less from others and to do whatever I was doing for Him alone. The hijab and abaya I wear turned out to be my armour,(yes, I’d like to call it that way) protecting me from the eyes of tempted men. It also teaches me simplicity, that I am a slave to my Lord and that I dress to impress Him alone!  It is also my automatic alarm system that constantly reminds me to not develop pride because, if I am blessed with something, the credits and praise are to Him alone!

Islam to me is the best form through which I can fulfill all my passions! I am reminded through the life of my Prophet Muhammadh that I could pray for others in their difficulty, even when we are too far away to reach out to those in need. It has given me motivation that I need not be powerful or rich to do great things, but even the simplest things matter if my intentions are pure. Islam means so much to me that it will always (at least I try hard) be my first priority! I could go on with the list, and I am very sure I will regret not adding in further!

For those of you, who do not know, today I am who I am only because of Islam and all praise is to Allah alone!

 “Verily, in the remembrance of Allah do hearts find rest.”
(Qur’an 13: 28)

And I pray, that whoever is reading this will find more peace than I did!

May Allah guide you all! Aameen.

11401086_944484588924602_3234610663935696076_n
Fathima Sajla Anees is a 20 year old Sri Lankan Moor Muslim. She is a first year law student at Sri Lanka Law College, but she is also passionate in special needs teaching and Psychological counselling.

Leave a comment